Committee Info
  • USG:
    Sude Elverdi
  • AUSG:
    Dicle Yağmur Kılıç
  • Topic:

About Committee

The European Council is one of the 7 European Union (EU) institutions that indicates the EU's political strategies and priorities. Contrary to the usual image that the word "Council" creates in people's minds, the European Council does not work as a legislative body. It shapes the political direction and the attitude of the European Union instead of adopting the EU law. The European Council consists of the European Council President, the President of the European Commission, and the heads of state or government of the 28 EU member states. Additionally, the High Representative of the Union for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy attends the meetings which foreign affairs are discussed.


The Council adopts "Conclusions" to identify issues of concern, to assign actions to take, or goals to reach; therefore to direct EU's political direction. The Council decides on the conclusions by consensus, without prejudice to the exceptions in the particular cases outlined in treaties. This committee will be discussing the Brexit Negotiations as a popular and crucial topic for the embodiment of the future European status. According to the Article 50 of the European Union Treaty(TEU), it is the European Council's duty to provide a guideline for the withdrawal agreement. The European Council must outline the arrangements on the separation process and shape the future relations between the EU and the UK during the discussions which will be carried on without the UK's attendance in the light of the Article 50 of the TEU.