Commonwealth of Nations

The Commonwealth of Nations (as known as Commonwealth) is an intergovernmental organization consists of 53 member states which are mostly former territories of British Empire. Commonwealth established through the Balfour Declaration in 1926, and formally institutionalized in 1949. Their framework has 3 main pillars to work on, which are "Economic, Social and Sustainable Development", "Governance and Peace" and "Trade, Oceans, and Natural Resources". Currently, it has more than 2.4 billion citizens combined, which is one-third of the world’s population. Commonwealth members are all over the world which includes both advanced and developing economies. While Queen Elizabeth II is the head of state in 16 countries, 6 countries have their own monarch and 31 countries are republics. 

Members are united under language, culture, history, and values which are concealed under the Commonwealth Charter. Their main goal is to promote development, democracy, and peace.Leaders of Commonwealth meet in every two years to discuss important topics about mutual concerns and interests at Commonwealth Heads of Government Meetings.Members have no legal obligations on one another.

Agenda Items

Promoting Inclusive and Sustainable Economic Growth


Aybüke Çalışkan

Academic Assistant

Aşkın Su Candan



Study Guide