Cabinet of the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia

The Cabinet of Saudi Arabia, also called the Council of Ministers, advises the King and facilitates the country’s development. It represents 22 different government ministries and holds weekly meetings under the King’s or his deputy’s presidency. The city of Riyadh is the seat of the Council of Ministers. Meetings may also be held in some other location in the Kingdom. The cabinet shall draw up the internal, external, financial, economic, educational and defense policies as well as general affairs of the State and shall supervise their implementation.The Cabinet consists of the Prime Minister (the King), the Deputy Prime Minister (the CrownPrince, who currently is also a Defense Minister with portfolio), 21 other ministers with portfolio and seven ministers of state. Cabinet ministers are appointed, relieved of their duties and their resignations accepted, by Royal Decree. It shall also review the resolutions of the Shura Council.It has the executive power and is the final authority in the financial and administrative affairs of all ministries and other government institutions. Every member of the Council of Ministers may propose what he deems worthy of discussion in the Council of Ministers' meetings after the approval of the Prime Minister. Its resolutions are passed only when a majority vote takes place. In case of a tie, the prime minister casts the tie-breaking vote.It functions in accordance with the Basic System of Governance and is advised by the Majlis Al-Shura (Consultative Council). Established in 1953 by King Saud, the Cabinet was restructured byKing Fahd in 1993 and King Salman in 2015.

Agenda Items

Open Agenda


Baki Bacık

Academic Assistant

Damla Taner



Study Guide