The North Atlantic Council

The North Atlantic Treaty Organization, also known as the North Atlantic Alliance, was found in 1949 after countries signed the treaty on April 4. Consisting of 29 countries, NATO enhances and upholds a collective defense mechanism in which each member agree to have a mutual defense response if one member gets attacked.

The North Atlantic Council is the primary decision-making body of the Organization, consisting of one permanent representative from each member. The 9th Article established it, therefore giving it authority solely from itself. The treaty also gave the NAC the power to set up subsidiary bodies for various policy functions, including a defense committee to implement other parts of the treaty. Since 1952, the Council has been in permanent session.

The NAC can be held at the Permanent Representative Level (PermReps) or can be composed of member states’ Ministers of State, Defense, or Heads of Government. It has the same powers regardless of the formation under which it meets. The Council meets twice a week: every Tuesday, for an informal lunch discussion; and every Wednesday for a decision-taking session.

The meetings of the NAC are chaired by the Secretary-General and, when decisions have to be made, the action is agreed upon based on unanimity and common accord. There is no voting or decision by majority. Each nation represented at the NAC table or on any of its subordinate committees retains complete sovereignty and responsibility for its own decisions.

Agenda Item: Open Agenda

Under Secretary-General: Selin AYAZ

Academic Assistant: Buğu Eylül YAŞAR